Movie Review: Away We Go

After my Pride expedition to take photos of myself with tall gays, my friend Harry and I decided to escape the heat and go see a movie. There was nothing out that we particularly wanted to see and after going through multiple movie listings on my iPhone (I’m in love with it) I came across the listing for “Away We Go”. I had heard little about this film, mostly those quick ad placements that they have on NPR, but seeing as how it was already a tall focused weekend after the photo excursion I thought “What better way to finish off the weekend than a movie with a tall actor in it? Shia LeBouf’s tiny ass (5′-9″) can wait. I want me some John Krasinski (6′-3″).” So yeah, FYI, this blog will have the occasional movie review of movies with tall actors as leads. If for no other reason than to give these guys some support out there as they face off with tiny actors.

Now, I don’t want to give too much away, as I find that so many reviews of movies do, practically telling you the entire plot. Instead, I’m going to do my best to focus on how I felt about the movie and the general themes. If this works, it’ll be how I review movies with tall actors in the future:

The movie was a bit of surprise to me. What I thought might be kind of a lackluster film, as it was getting a major release in big theaters despite what seemed like an attempt to sort of slide it through theaters without anyone noticing, turned out to be a very sweet comedy about two people just trying to find a place to raise their future child. Maybe it’s just me, but I find that rather touching. When I was a kid, my family moved from New Orleans where I had a lot of family to Sacramento, CA where the only family was 3 hours away. I always wished I knew my family better or at least had them closer so we could try to get to know each other better…. oh well…

Anyway, back to the movie. I had worried that all I would get from Krasinski was his “The Office” character Jim. But I have to say, he showed more subtle depth in this movie than I thought he could pull off. His character Burt is a sweet guy, much like Jim, but is a lot quirkier and prone to random acts of open silliness. Rudolph is also wonderful, as I am used to seeing her do wildly exaggerated characters (like on SNL) that she never seems to full believe. But this time, I bought into her character Verona as a woman who deeply loves her boyfriend (she refuses to marry him, for reasons I believe are intentionally left up to the viewer to decide) and really just wants her child to grow up happy.

I spoke to my friend Mike about it, recommending that he see it after he asked me if I had seen Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen (or as he calls it: TROTF). His first question was, “How hipster is it? Is it, like, ‘Garden State’ or what?”. I can see why he would think that, but I don’t think that’s a 100% fair comparison. While it might seem hipster-ish, it’s not really about a particular lifestyle, it’s really just about trying to find a place where you can live happily. Is it with family, friends, or simply making your way on your own?

The film also has some fantastic cameos that I wasn’t expecting, especially Allison Janey (6′-0″) as a woman just short of being the worst mother you’ve ever seen.

I highly recommend this film. I don’t want to give too much away, as I find that so many reviews of movies do but I will say it almost has a Juno quality to it, but with a sincerity that the extremely sarcastic Juno would laugh off as sappy. But “Away We Go” manages to pull off enough of an edge through out that the sappy moments don’t seem strained or cheesy. They’re just sincere. And isn’t that how we all kinda want to live life?

Here’s a link to trailer, but honestly, don’t watch it. There’s a few moments in there that are better left to seeing in the movie. I’m really just posting it for those of you that refuse to see any movie without first viewing the trailer:

Away We Go Trailer

Leave a Reply

