The Bet


First, I apologize for the tardiness of this post. I actually wrote this last night, but I was waiting till I could get a photo with my little brother to go along with it, which as you can see above I now have. Enjoy:

About 5 years ago, as I was preparing to move to San Francisco, my brother and I formulated a bet: which of us would be taller when he turned 21.

When I was 17 I was already the height I am now: 6′-7″. I remember Chris at 14 and I used to tease him about how he’d never get to be as tall as me or our brother Shay (who is 3 years older than me and the same height as I am.) Now it seems that my teasing might actually become prophecy.

Chris has been about 6’5″ for the last year or two. He hit his max at 17, like I and Shay did, but has been holding out hope that he would get my father’s growth spurt. Dad said he grew about 6 inches in college, but I think that had more to do with his exercise regimen helping to straighten out his scoliosis (which has his back not only S curved, but twisted) which helped him to rise to about 6’3″. Impressive, seeing as how many people with his condition end up having to walk with canes or walkers. At 68, Dad still stands straight up even if he’s lost about an 1″ in height because of his condition.

But I digress…. Chris and I measured today. I’m still up 2″. He’s got about a year and a half to add those needed inches to not pay to have me $100.

Who thinks he can pull it off? Suggestions for my “little bro” that might help him? Shoot me an e-mail or please feel free to comment below.

PS: Something I found out tonight, as we took the photo and measured: Chris is actually 6′-3.5″. So I guess I’m up more than the original 2″ I thought I was.

A little piece of dialogue from tonight.

Darcy: It’s cool Chris, just stand up straight.

Chris: I am standing up straight.

Darcy: Oh. I’m sorry.

*Mom chuckles in the background*

Leave a Reply

