Burn this wedding

Saturday, after spending a Friday night preventing a total stranger from dying of alcohol poisoning (that was a bonding experience for all involved), I went to a friends wedding in Golden Gate Park next to the Conservatory of Flowers. Only it was…. slightly different than most.

I want to use words to describe it, but really the photos/video do it more justice. I regret not bringing my full on, heavy duty professional grade video camera so I could share it better. Apologies.

A number of the people involved go to Burning Man every year. Whatever one might think of the actual Burning Man event, this is the kind of thing they do the rest of the year. The groom is one of the 5 other people I work with to put on the “Bring Your Own Big Wheel Race” every year and he also works to organize other free/fun events in the city.

And while Burning Man may be associated with less wholesome activities, this wedding was very mellow with a number of park goers coming out to watch the fun people who could care less what anyone things about them throwing one of the funnest weddings ever. Completely sober, completely in public and completely awesome. Check it out here.

How does this relate to height? The guy in the picture below, mid ceremony, turns around as I am opening my beer. He looks at me and says “Damn, you’re tall.” Even at a wedding full of some of the most creatively dressed wedding guests, that guy (don’t let the pink wig fool you) I still stand out like a sore thumb. *sigh* Enjoy the photos 🙂

Leave a Reply

