Muni shrunk in the wash

You know how sometimes clothes shrink the wash? Like you buy something that’s 100% cotton and you wash it without really thinking about how it’s going to shrink because who wears anything that isn’t already pre-shrunk? I think that happen to the Muni bus that I was on the other day.

It was a lightly rainy day in San Francisco and I had just had breakfast with my friend Jonathan. I’d left my truck over by the very same bar I mentioned in my last post so I caught the bus with him as he was going to work. But when I got inside, I was amazed because I couldn’t fully stand up.

I’d forgotten that this happens sometimes in the city. There are a few bus’s in service that for some reason are magically shrinking as you head to the back. If you’re not careful you can be knocked unconscious by the signs that hang down to display where you are on the route.


See it down there in red? Since my head was scraping I had to duck to massively duck. I guess it’s acceptable since the codes that are supposed to make everything accessible or safe are only written for the handicapped, not the heighticapped. (That’s right I made up a word. Boo yah.)

Fortunately for me though there was a spot right under the emergency exit door.


And what a wonderful spot it was. I had such an amazing view of this wonderful city I call home through the windows.

I wish I had some video of when I was about to hop off. I got closer to the door with the stop a few blocks up. As the bus popped from side to side, I started to pretend like I was skiing, much to the delight of Jonathan and our friend Juan who we ran into at our first stop. They were so amused by how I couldn’t fit on the bus that they took this photo I posted on Facebook last week.

I think they’re conversation went something like this:

Jonathan: Hahahahahahaha Jolly Green Giant! hahahahahaha

Juan: Hahahahaha ¡muy alto! hahahahahah

Ah, being tall on Muni.

Leave a Reply

