Santarchy & Santacon

http://www.flickr.com/apps/slideshow/show.swf?v=71649

A buddy of mine from my big wheel race activities, J-rad, a long time ago told me stories of Stantarchy. It’s that magical event that happens but once a year where people dress as Santa and head out to spread the cheer of the birth of baby Jesus. There are carols sung, people “santa-fied” and as is true for most acitivies in San Francisco alcoholic beverages imbibed. This is all based around the Santacon events where Santa’s come and get together to do Santa like things… I’m told… errr…

I’ve been debating for a while if I should do said Santarchy. I love SF specifically for this kind of insanity. The Valentines Day Pillow Fight, BYOBW, Flash Dance, even Critical Mass which I personally find very annoying but still appreciate the activity. The question was really how I should participate. With an undergrad in theater I don’t think I could show my face to my fellow alums unless I did something special for a very special event.

What I decided was to do was not to go as Santa but instead as a little kid chasing down Santa. Cause who doesn’t want to see a 6’7″ tall man-child chasing down drunk Santas? My costume consists of the following:

1) An awesome adult size onesie. I was going to order one online that fits but I decided to go too late. The price to have it next day aired was ridiculous. Besides, this one looks more amusing.

2) A robe. It’s going to be pretty cold and I don’t think this onesie will handle all of it.

3) An AWESOME Star Wars back pack. Why the backpack? I’m going to fill it with cookies to hand out to the Santas. That’s how you get what you want from Santa, the same way a lobbyist would do it… bribes.

I look forward to the awesomeness tomorrow. You should look forward to a fun post next week, when I will be posting multiple times because *HOORAY* I’m out for the semester… until I go on a study tour to Dubai, Abu dhabi, and Istanbul that you can read about on this blog that I will be writing/editing entries.

Leave a Reply

