It’s not just tall people that block views

A few months ago I was lucky enough to go see a show at Teatro Zizanni, which is similar to Cirque du Soleil except you get to have dinner while the action happens just a few feet away from you (I highly recommend it). Not long after I sat down, a woman sitting at the table not far behind me asked me if I could slouch down so she could see the stage. Now, I’ve gotten used to these kinds of requests over the years as I know my long frame can cause problems for those that sit behind me. I politely agreed and spent the evening in a weird sort of position that was truly not ideal for my future posture.

So when this past Sunday, at the Saints game in the Superdome, you can imagine how pissed I was when my view was blocked. Months ago my little brother bought us tickets to this game for our family trip to New Orleans, where I was born and a lot of my family lives, long before the Saints went on their 13-0 tear. Back then the seats weren’t worth much, but now, they are worth a lot and you can see why from the view:


We had amazing seats, 2nd row back from the field. Can’t get much better than this…. except it can get worse.

Every 2 minutes this jackass was jumping up to clap. He was like a frigin‘ jack-in-the-box, blocking my view with no concern for the people behind him. In fact, his entire row was doing this constantly through out the game. It got to a point where my Dad, who is so close to 70 he can reach out and touch it, had to ask the guy in front of him to stop because he couldn’t keep up with jumping up every time they did. I took to sitting on top of my seat while it was folded up, which did improve my view a fair amount but did no favors to the people sitting behind me.

I was actually fairly ticked off till my little brother pointed out something to me; people sitting at the end zones weren’t standing up the whole game but the people across the field from us behind the Saints were. Why is this? For a couple reasons.

1. Their seats overall are just flat out higher than our seats. So any obstacle in front of the first row does not force it to get up every minute to see whats going on.

2. There’s no football team standing in front of them to block their view. Our seats were literally just a few feat about the ground, so when the football team is standing and the first row is seated you might as well put up a brick wall between them and the field. Here, take a look at a photo I snapped while the guy sitting in front of me was off buying beer.

That’s a pretty horrible view for that guy if he’s seated.

This led me to switch my anger from him to the designers of the Superdome, Curtis and Davis, that my trusty “series of tubes” tells me designed the arena in 1967. The only logic I can find for their design is the following:

  1. They assumed that teams would be seated the entire time, thereby not blocking the view of the first few rows.
  2. They’re idiots.

I’m going with option two. So sorry dude that was sitting in front of me at the game. My misdirected anger really belonged somewhere else.

But still, shorter people, sometimes, you’re blocking peoples view. Or sometimes your designing a thing that will be built that will block peoples view. Either way, sight lines are important and please keep the people behind you in mind.

PS: As we were leaving, a guy turned to me and asked me “how’s the air up there?” and if I ever played basketball. I said thin and “No, but the rest of my family did. Look back, you should be able to pick them out of the crowd.”

One thought on “It’s not just tall people that block views

  1. Pingback: io9.com: Tall people at a disadvantage while walking. WTF? | The Tall Blog

Leave a Reply

