The Tall Convention

Last year, when I started this blog, I read about Tall Clubs and Tall Conventions in Arianne Cohen’s “The Tall Book”. I remember reading it and being shocked that they existed in the same way that everyone that I told that I would be attending were shocked as well. “They have those?” was the most common comment.

Then when I told them that I was going so I could participate as one of the judges for Miss Tall International, they were doubly shocked. As was I, when Jane Baldwin (6′-2″), the Pageant Director contacted me through Facebook and asked if I was interested. After I read the fact that the convention was happening in New Orleans, I was sold. How could I not go to a convention whose sole goal is to make me feel average and uncomfortable?

The pageant was awesome. It was just a blast. I had never judged anything like it before. But I think what was the most intriguing was just the sheer fact that I was in a room with so many tall people. It was the greatest grouping of NBA breeders and potential insurance head injury liabilities claimants I have ever been around.

Borrowed from The Portland Skyliners photos

At one point, one of the people I was with turned to the other and said, “Do you see [X person]?” To which, the other replied, “Usually, I just look over the crowd. But honestly, right now…. ” and shrugged her shoulders.

I did learn some neat info from Miss Tall Club International, Miss Holli Jennings (6’4″). During her reign she participated in 15 parades and was even Grand Marshal of one of them! That was interesting to learn, because I wasn’t totally clear on what all the duties for Miss TI. I’d write more about it, but I’m working on getting Holli to join me as a writer on this blog so we can get a bit more a female balance to this blog.

Leave her a comment to help me convince her to join me!

Holli with the newly crowned Miss Tall Club International Joy Dawson (6’2″)

I photoshopped in my friend Kurt, who is 5’8″, for perspective. I have no idea why he is offering you steak. I can’t seem to convince him to stop doing that.

For more photos from the event check out the Portland Skyliner Page.

Great weekend guys! And congratulations to Joy Dawson, Miss Tall Club International for 2010!

Leave a Reply

