Why We Need Tall Blogs

Hi there! My name’s Anne and I’m a 6ft tall Aussie blogger and fashion designer.  I’m so excited to be writing alongside Darcy and Holli, who make me feel positively short!  In tribute to them and to tall bloggers everywhere, I want to write my first post about how glad I am tall blogs exist.

This is me, when I was actually small!  Yes, it was true once.  I had no idea I was going to be so much loftier than every other kid I knew, and dressing up was one of my favorite pastimes.

I love this picture.  Unfortunately, it’s one of the very few early shots I have where I’m really comfortable with “dress ups.”  Because by the time I was around 12, I wasn’t fitting in to anything.  The costume below was made by my Mum specially so that it fit.  It … mostly … matched the other kids’ costumes.

Give that growth pattern five more years, and what photos of me there are, all look more or less like this:

Yikes.  What happened?

That’s not just teen angst there.  It’s the lack of an identity.  I’m wearing that face and body like they’re scratchy hand-me-downs from a least favorite aunt.

To be blunt, I had no idea how to be a tall girl.  I slouched horribly.  I had a complex about ‘girly stuff’.  I kept my hair short because I felt stupid wearing long hair with men’s clothes and oversized tee shirts.  Besides, since I was excluded from the normal small-girl game of ‘hairdresser’, I had no idea how to look after it.

To say that I didn’t know many tall women would be an understatement.  I grew up in a country town in Victoria, Australia.  There was one other girl in school, built like a rail, who went on to represent the country in beach volleyball.  I had a curvy shape and couldn’t throw a ball straight to save my life. There was my mother: she has always had a difficult relationship with her height. Mum had grown up in a community even more isolated than mine, in an era where 6′ made you just about circus material.

And that was it.  That was what I knew about height.

My point?  Life is easier these days, thanks to the net.  There always were fabulous tall women, but it was easy to miss them.  These days we can see them online and even connect with them.

Young tall girls don’t need to feel alone or ugly when there’s an Arienne Cohen, and a Florence Welch, yes even a Taylor Swift, doing amazing things in the world and not feeling conflicted in the least about their femininity.  There are YouTube videos for every hair style known to man, if the shorter girls our age haven’t grown up enough to be nice.  We can log in to Facebook and find a raft of groups dedicated to the awesomeness of being tall.  We can swap links for stores that sell good clothes over the net.  Next week I’m even off to Sydney to meet up in person with fabulous tall women I met on the internet.

Of course everything’s not perfect.  I HATE paying $50 in shipping for a pair of shoes when I can’t even be sure they’ll fit and I can’t return them.  The internet can’t resolve all the difficulties of living 30,000 miles from an Amazon shipping point!  But life is different when I can read Holli’s blog posts and think to myself, how gorgeous does she look?  How happy and comfortable with her height!

And she’s got four inches on me! I’d better dig out those pink and girly high heels 🙂

Life is different when you can connect.  I’m thankful for tall blogs every day.

Anne Shea is the founder of the Sarah Vain and Tall clothing line: find her at www.sarahvainandtall.com/blog

2 thoughts on “Why We Need Tall Blogs

  1. Pingback: Tall Unity «

  2. I love the part about “[The candidate is] inquisitive enough to take advice from many conflicting perspectives, wise enough come to their own conclusion, and have the character to convince others that what they propose is the right thing to do.”

Leave a Reply

