A Perk of being TALL

Last Saturday we went to the Portland airport to buy some tickets.  I’ve never bought tickets at the airport before so this was a first time for me.  I have to admit, there’s something exciting about going to the airport to purchase tickets.  People are walking fast to get to their anticipated destinations, kids are happy and not acting out, and everyone smiles at you when you pass them…I love happy strangers, they make me smile!  I’m smiling now just thinking about it.

This is me...SMILING!!!

I LOVE to travel and this past June when I was in New Orleans I had the opportunity to give up my seat on my flight home.  That may not sound like fun to you but this afforded me $400 in airfare vouchers.  Which brings me to the reason why we went to the airport to purchase tickets.

Buying tickets online using a voucher is tricky particularly when there’s two of you traveling and you want to purchase seats together.  As we walked up to the counter I was so excited!  We had decided upon Amsterdam as our destination since we could then travel by train fairly easily to London and to Paris, two cities that I have to see.

Purchasing the tickets was a breeze.  The ticket agent was so helpful and I think she could sense my happiness and overall excitement.  And here’s where the perk of being tall comes in.  As she looked at the two of us, both over 6’4″ she says, “You definitely need exit row seats.”  I couldn’t contain my excitement.  I think I probably did a cartwheel by then because she not only made my day, she made my entire week!  I’ve only traveled overseas once before when I visited Ireland and the 13 hour flight seemed like forever in that tiny seat.  I’m actually going to have leg-room this time.

So it took me awhile to get to the point but this is one of the many perks of being TALL!

4 thoughts on “A Perk of being TALL

  1. I fly a lot on business and find the same thing. If you show up in person there is a good chance you can get an exit row or bulkhead seat if the airline does not change extra for them. Unfortunately some airlines do and some of these charges are high. What I was able to negotiate with my employer is they will pay for the upgrade for extra legroom if it exists and I fly business class on all long flights.

    Of course doing a cartwheel for the clerk would be a nice thing:-)

    A very good resource is http://www.seatguru.com , which will tell you about the seats on a particular flight and let you look at the differences. The European economy airlines for short flights are not good, so it is great you are using the train!

    A friend of mine is two meters tall. She doesn’t have a lot of money, so buying extra legroom is a hardship, but almost a necessity. If an airline doesn’t charge for it she is always able to get a gate attendant to find a volunteer to switch, but that doesn’t work if people have paid. She told me about a flight across the US where she was crunched into a small seat and then tried to stand in the aisle whenever she could, but the headroom wasn’t enough for her to really stand up.

    • I’ve never heard of seatguru.com but I’m definitely going to check it out. I fly a lot! And so I’ve got lots of horror stories and a few nice stories too. That’s why I had to share this one. It’s not too often we hear the positive stuff. I wish I would’ve caught this lady’s name!!

  2. I don’t fly often, but when I have the experiences weren’t always pleasant. One airline that lost my business is Delta. I went to a wedding in Hawaii in 2005. I live in Illinois, so this involved 3 planes each way. I am 6’8″ and in clear need of an exit row or bulkhead seat. Every plane, practically every time, I had to argue with the people at Delta as to why I needed an exit row or bulkhead. Out of 6 flights only one time did I not have to convince the Delta employee I was dealing with that I needed an exit row or bulkhead seat. Luckily, it was because her brother was 6’6″ and she understood my situation.

    Now when I fly, I usually fly American Airlines. This is mainly because its one of the few airlines we have to choose from when flying for work. So far, I have not had an issue obtaining a bulk head or exit row seat. The secret catch to this is that I signed up a while back for the American Airlines Advantage program. This is more dedicated towards frequent flyer miles and such, but I do not fly enough to receive any benefits from miles. The benefit of the advantage program is that the day of my flight I can go online and reserve myself an exit row or bulk head seat. The advantage program is free too, its just a way to accumulate points and see/change your flight info.

    In the past when I would fly, sitting in a bulk head or exit row seat usually meant waiting until you got to the air port so you can argue with whoever is at the ticket counter for your seat. As far as I am aware, most airlines do not allow the exit row seats to be reserved until the day of the flight. Having the ability to choose one of those seats as early as possible the day of your flight sure beats arguing with the airlines when you get to the airport.

    After all that, it may sound like I am pro American Airlines. Honestly, if I had a choice I would probably choose another airlines. I have good experiences with Frontier Airlines. They were easy to deal with when it came to my tallness. They also have TV’s for every seat which is a nice bonus. I have also heard great things about Jet Blue and Southwest. I have yet to fly either but will gladly try them when I fly for pleasure and not business.

    • I probably should note that this airline was Delta. They really did me a favor because they didn’t charge any additional charges for the exit seats like most airlines are doing nowadays. I see that you had trouble with them and I have had some trouble with them in the past, but this particular representative was so incredibly nice that she spoke volumes for the company. Most airlines have good people working for them but you do have to catch them on a good day.

Leave a Reply

