Tall Dating–A Personal Experience

Before I go into my official subject I first want to say that I’ve been absent for several weeks.  My life got in the way of my blogging.  But…I’m back!!! And very excited to share some more of my life stories with you.  Hang on!!!

Okay, onto the always touchy subject of dating…ahem…Tall Dating. I got this idea because I was google searching for TALL clothes and somehow this Yahoo Answers site popped up.  (http://answers.yahoo.com). If you remember, back in September Anne did a fantastic blog about ‘How to Date a Tall Girl’ and she had a similar experience.  Some random TALL question popped up on her google alerts.  Anne actually gave advice to the young lad on how to date a tall girl and her advice was sound and very well thought out.  Her blog should be required reading material for any man who would like to date a TALL woman (I’m going to throw an exception in there for the short men who have a fantasy of dating TALL women.  We are not your playground.

Anyway, I got to thinking about my personal dating experiences and I thought I might share a few.  Some are very funny, some are quite silly, and I might share one where I hope that ‘he’ isn’t reading this…but all in all, doesn’t everyone have a story to tell?

So you all know my background: TALL girl who grew up with 3 other sisters, played sports, hilariously funny, charmingly witty, ridiculously silly…and more importantly I had 35 people in my graduating class.  8 boys, 27 girls.  I didn’t date anyone from my high school because there was NO one to date.  Although surprisingly there was one guy taller than me.  Thankfully that’s who I got to walk with at graduation.

In high school I had the grand illusions of finding a man taller than me.  I wasn’t going to accept anything less.  I was SO naive!  There was one guy in a neighboring town named Ryan.  He was 6’9″ and I knew him a little bit because we’d met while ‘scooping the loop’ in Mason City, IA.  I somehow got the nerve to call him out of the blue and ask him to a dance at our high school.  He was so gracious and I’ll never forget what he said when I asked him, “I would love to go, but I don’t think my girlfriend would like it.”  I’ve always thought that was such a great turn-down.

When I did finally meet someone in high school SURPRISE, he was 5’7″ and I thought he looked just like Corey Haim.  I met him also while ‘scooping the loop’ (it was the thing to do in small town IA) and he was really fun.  He was the one that taught me that height really isn’t everything.  He didn’t care that I was taller than him.  In fact, he thought it was kinda cool.  I still have his class ring…oops.

Then college came and I learned that dating isn’t as much fun as having a gazillion guy friends to hang out with.  Guy friends meant that you were the envy of all the girls and you also got invited to all of cool parties, especially when your best friend was a football player.  Now this didn’t mean I stopped dating, it just meant I was more interested in having fun with my friends.  I was never left off a party invite and I knew everyone in college.  It was a great time!

Then came the real world.  Time to settle down a bit and become part of the working world.  My friends were starting to settle down and of course, I wasn’t.  How in the world was I supposed to find ‘the One’?  So I went on this Tall Dating website back in the mid 90’s.  It was more to meet people than anything but hey, it’s worth a try.

I met a few people, but I didn’t date a single one.  One try down, now on to Match.com.  This is where the real fun begins.

This was my Match.com profile picture.

So after I sorted through all of the winks and all of the short men looking for a good time I started chatting with a really funny guy.  I mean really funny.  I’m a sucker for a witty guy who can make me laugh out loud and this guy seemed to have it all.  So we went on a date.  Let me start off by saying he didn’t really look like his picture, he wasn’t 6’2″.  It’s a good thing that I don’t mind shorter men.  Okay, no big deal.  We started talking and immediately I noticed that he seemed very…paranoid.  I won’t go into our conversations because quite frankly, I wouldn’t even know how to print it but at the end of the date we had ended up parking in the same garage.  He told me he had something to show me in his car and would I mind walking to his car?  Well duh, I minded but I’m the curious sort so I did.  He asked me to sit in his car and he reached under the front seat.

He asks me if I like the song “Amazing Grace’.  I say no.  It’s a funeral song and it makes me cry every time I hear it.  So he asks if I like the song “Under the Boardwalk’.  I say yes…..he then pulls out his harmonica and serenades me with ‘Under the Boardwalk’.  I was stunned.  But that wasn’t the end.  Halfway through the song he stops and asks me to ‘sing along’.

In case you are wondering….I chose not to sing.

I’m getting a little wordy tonight so I’m going to wrap up and continue this conversation next week.  Until then…

One thought on “Tall Dating–A Personal Experience

Leave a Reply

