Dressing for Tall Holiday Parties

It’s that time of year again, Holiday Parties are in full swing and as a 6’4″ women, it’s not easy to find formal-wear that’s appropriate to wear to these somewhat formal events. This is where my online shopping addiction pays off. I spend hours researching (yes, I call it researching) websites looking for potential places to shop for good deals and nice fitting dresses.

My favorite dress!

My favorite dress!

It’s not difficult to find a reasonably priced formal dress if you have time to shop for it. There are many ‘normal’ stores that carry longer dresses however you have to know what too look for.  A couple of hints:

  • If you are 6’0″ or above, look for dresses that are 60 inches or longer
  • If you find a dress with adjustable straps, you may be able to gain 1-2 inches from the straps themselves
  • Empire-waisted dresses will help accentuate that longer figure of yours and if the dress is shorter than expected, it will look like it was meant to be ‘tea-length’
  • It’s okay to show your feet!! (just make sure you have a pedicure and pretty shoes–more shopping

When I was Miss Tall International I found myself shopping for dresses and shoes all the time.  I visited my Tall Clubs all over the US as a guest during their Club Weekends and every weekend typically has a formal dinner.  I believe that this is where my online shopping addiction started.

I love the beading around the neck of this one.

As I’ve mentioned before, I’m not exactly a ‘girly-girl’…however, I’ve come to learn that there is much to be said for a pretty dress and pretty shoes.  You feel very ‘put together’ when you’re all dressed up for the party.

Believe it or not I found the majority of my dresses at Nordstroms.  I had to check back often and I had to look at almost every dress because I wanted to verify that it would be long enough.   I had to return several dresses for one reason or another but I still shop Nordstrom for their Evening Gowns.

If you really have time and the money you can always type ‘Drag Queen dresses’ in any search engine and see what stores pop up.  I’m not kidding!  If you are looking for some beautiful dresses that can be custom-made, well, there are stores out there that will do it.  You just have to be willing to try it.

Leave a Reply

