New Year’s Resolutions–Part 2, 2011 Resolutions

Melissa, Robyn, & I on a fun night in CO.Last week I talked about all of the great fun I had in 2010. I traveled, I reigned part of the year as Miss Tall International 2009, I visited Tall Clubs in a few major cities and I even had some pretty good times with my family. But did you notice what I didn’t talk about? I felt it was glaringly obvious however you might not have picked up on it if you don’t know me very well.  I didn’t make any time in my life for my best friends. I have friends that I have known for almost 33 years and I didn’t even talk to them last year! I’ve got friends from kindergarten, middle school, junior high, high school….I have always made a point in my life to maintain my relationships because they are so very important to my well-being. I didn’t do that last year and I suffered because of it.

Now, I don’t want to say that I didn’t enjoy the new friendships I have made throughout the past few years since I moved from Denver, CO or even from Des Moines, IA over 7 years ago. I adore every person that I have met and I hope that I can continue these friendship for as long as I know each person however, my idea of a ‘best friend’ is someone whom I can pick up the phone and we pick up right where we left off.  Many people in my life are like that.  We don’t have to talk everyday and we generally keep tabs on one another particularly through Facebook (what a great tool) but for me, not traveling to visit my ‘posse’ is unthinkable.

Michelle & I in Portland before I'd even moved there!

Beginning in December I started to think about the things that I needed to change in 2011 and at the top of my list was ‘Reviving Friendships’.  I know going into 2011 I won’t have the opportunity to travel and see everyone I would like, I simply don’t have the vacation time (or the money) but hopefully I’ll get to talk to people that I haven’t talked to in quite some time.    I’m also hoping that I will have the opportunity to have friends come and visit me as well particularly now that I have a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom apartment (hint, hint).

Molli and I in TX.

Another hot topic for me in 2011 is to step outside of my comfort zone.  I was really on a roll when I first moved to Portland.  I challenged myself frequently to try things that I had never done before but I can honestly say that I’ve fallen back into old habits.  It’s time to get off my duff and try new things.  New job challenge, new outside of work challenges, there are so many things to try and wishes that will only stay wishes unless I do something about them.  I’m challenging myself to write, to travel, and do the things that I love to do.  And to stop worrying so much.

Now the tricky part about writing a blog about your World Domination aspirations is that you don’t want to share too much because it’s so personal.  There’s so much I have planned this year that involves classes, submitting stories, writing more blogs, learning a new language, world travel, writing, writing, and more writing.  Oh, and don’t forget online shopping (killer deals out there people!).

And of course I’m going to drop those pesky 10 pounds that I’ve gained…hopefully just before I leave for Europe in March!

One thought on “New Year’s Resolutions–Part 2, 2011 Resolutions

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention New Year’s Resolutions–Part 2, 2011 Resolutions | The Tall Blog -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

