Weekends with friends

I went to Seattle recently to visit a friend of mine that I’ve known for 33 years. We started school together back in 1978 so I’ve known her a long time. As I was driving I heard my absolute favorite song in the whole world, ‘Jane Says’ by Jane’s Addiction.

For whatever reason that song is like a good punch in the stomach.  It’s as if you hear something that tastes like candy for your ears.  I love this song.  It got me to thinking what other songs are my ‘punchy’ songs.  I’ve got only a few

  • “Jane Says”, Jane’s Addiction
  • “Sistor”, The Nixons
  • “Close my eyes Forever”, Lita Ford with Ozzy Osbourne
  • “The Air That I Breathe”, The Hollies
  • “Escape (The Pena Colada Song)”, Rupert Holmes

There are some really great songs out there that will stop my in my tracks, but not like “Jane Says”.  But as usual, I’m digressing from my topic.

When I got to Jaren’s we did our usual ‘catch up’ thing.  Good friends can do that.  We haven’t seen each other in months and we simply picked up where we left off.  It’s awesome.

So Jaren and I went to Carnation, WA and to the local bazaar where I proceeded to drop some cash on locally made products.  I found some amazing shawls that were too short.  And then I found the longer ones!  They were perfect for a tall girl such as myself.  What was funny, was that the second Jaren and I started looking at the shawls within 5 minutes there was a run on this lady’s merchandise!  I got my 2 and got outta there.  Beautiful hand-crafted items make me think of home.

Then we found the jewelry.  You simply cannot go wrong with jewelry.  Boy, listen to me…again, I’m digressing.  The whole reason I was writing this was to talk about how I was the tallest person (male or female) at the bazaar.

People were staring, kids were pointing, and I can’t tell you how many weird looks I got…it was awesome.  What was even better is Jaren’s reaction.  She didn’t do anything, it didn’t phase her.  She’s so used to it that I’m not sure she even noticed.  That’s what good friends do; they don’t notice how tall you are even when the rest of the world does their best to point it out.  Isn’t that great?

Jaren and me from our 'girls weekend' last January.

Leave a Reply

