When is the 2013 fun supposed to begin?

I have been dealing with something for about 4 months. I blamed it on my move at first but then I finally broke down and went to the doctor (actually urgent care because it got so bad).  It really has nothing to do with being tall and the story itself isn’t going to leave you with a ‘feel good’ feeling or teach you a lesson.  And I can’t upload pictures at the moment because I ran out of space on my computer…but I want to share the story because, well, I tend to over share anyway and this really needs to be shared.

I got Botox about 4 months ago.  I’ve done it before, in fact I had a great doctor in Portland who was amazing!  When I moved to Madison, WI I had to find new doctors all over again including dentist and a primary physician. I went to this new ‘place’ which I will not name, to get my injections…I got the Botox and ended up, unbeknownst to me, leaving with an infected forehead.  I thought it was bad acne.  I blamed it on the change of weather.  I had these red bumps on my forehead that looked like pimples and I figured that when you move from a relatively humid climate to a drier climate, your skin suffers.

I remember when I first moved from Des Moines, IA to Denver, CO.  My poor face!  It was scaly for 4 months!  It took forever for my skin to acclimate to the weather so I assumed the same thing was happening here in Madison.  And then I woke up one morning about 2 weeks ago to a swollen forehead.  And when I say swollen, I mean my forehead, the bridge of my nose, my eyelids…I looked a tad like the elephant man. OR if you are a Star Trek fan, you could also say I looked like Wharf.  That huge forehead!! I’m posting a pic below that I took with a friend of mine on a recent trip to Des Moines.  I’m wearing a ton of make up but you can still visibly see the bumps.

Me and my friend John as well as my unwanted and uninvited bumps on my head.

Me and my friend John as well as my unwanted and uninvited bumps on my head.

Anyway, a trip to urgent care, a steroid topical cream, 1000 mg of antibiotics per day, and my face is finally starting to calm down.  My doctor believes it’s some form of staph infection.  Awesome….I’ve always said, and maintained, if something weird is going to happen, it will happen to me.

Now I did title this post asking when the fun is supposed to begin for 2013 and I’ve actually had some pretty good fun already.  I didn’t want to wait until I got my computer memory fixed until I posted another blog so at least for now I can update on my ‘not so fun’ moments of 2013.  There’s so many exciting things to come that this will not ruin my year…only my forehead, for now.

More to come!

One thought on “When is the 2013 fun supposed to begin?

Leave a Reply

